Cooperative Business New Zealand is pleased to announce the finalists for this year's Annual Awards 2020.

The awards celebrate outstanding leadership and success within the New Zealand co-operative sector.

Cooperative Business NZ CEO Roz Henry says there was an excellent response this year, with an exceptional array of leaders and businesses nominated in all award categories.

"Our Independent Review Panel advised us how impressed they were with the calibre of applications received, and the breadth of co-operative businesses that applied."

The Independent Review Panel has met to consider nominations, with the following leaders and businesses shortlisted:

Co-operative Business of the Year

  • The Foodstuffs Co-operatives (Foodstuffs North Island and Foodstuffs South Island)
  • NZPM
  • Ravensdown

Co-operative Leader of the Year

  • Brendan Hall, Managing Director, Mitre 10 Crofton Downs and Mitre 10 Gisborne
  • Chris Quin, CEO, Foodstuffs North Island 
  • Steve Boomert, Group CEO, ProCare Network Limited 
  • Simon Manning, CEO, Wealthpoint 

Outstanding Co-operative Contribution

  • John Monaghan, Chairman, Fonterra
  • Lachie Johnstone, Past Chairman, Farmlands Co-operative
  • Nicola Shadbolt, Professor, Massey University

Emerging Leader of the Year

  • Jamie Penney, Managing Director, Ion Technologies
  • Katie Vickers, Head of Sustainability and Land Use, Farmlands Co-operative
  • Morgan McCann, Head of New World, Foodstuffs North Island

Roz says: "I would like to thank the panel members - Dr Lisa Callagher (University of Auckland), Alastair Hercus (Buddle Findlay) and Phil McKendry (Electricity Ashburton) - for giving their time to judge these awards once again this year.

"Congratulations to all of the finalists and to those who entered a nomination. There are so many worthy participants in what has been a challenging year."

The awards are also a chance to celebrate Cooperative Business New Zealand members that have reached significant milestones. This year Electricity Ashburton are marking their 25th year in business.

Winners will be announced at the awards ceremony being held on Thursday 26 November from 6pm at the highly-celebrated Christchurch Transitional Cathedral (better known as the Cardboard Cathedral). More information about the event and tickets are available here.