Cooperative Business New Zealand is the industry peak body, bringing together the country’s co-operative and mutual businesses to champion this highly successful business model. 

For more than 30 years, we have been the voice of Kiwi co-ops and mutuals and the recognised authority on co-operative business. In 2014, the United Nations named New Zealand as the world’s most co-operative economy following a global survey of 145 countries.

Based in Newmarket, Auckland, Cooperative Business currently represents over 50 New Zealand co-operatives operating across the spectrum of industries including agriculture, manufacturing, insurance, banking and other financial services, utilities, pharmaceuticals, education, health, wholesale and retail.

Advocacy of behalf of our members is one of our most important activities and we maintain a close watch on issues under consideration by government which could affect the operation of co-operatives and mutuals. Over the years we have engaged with a wide range of decision-makers on a host of issues.

In partnership with the Institute of Directors, we offer co-operative-focused education and professional development programmes targeted at chairs, directors, members and senior managers of co-ops and mutuals.

We facilitate and co-ordinate services, expertise and research in support of the co-operative and mutual business model and encourage New Zealand’s tertiary institutions to include co-operative teaching in their curricula.

As a member of the International Co-operative Alliance we have access to a large pool of co-operative practitioners, specialists and researchers from the Asia-Pacific region and around the world. We bring speakers to New Zealand for forums around the country on topics relevant to the operation and future of co-operative and mutual enterprise.

Registered in March 1984 as the New Zealand Agricultural Cooperatives Association, the name was changed to the New Zealand Cooperatives Association in May 1997, and then in November 2012 to Cooperative Business New Zealand.



Craig Presland (Chief Executive Officer)

Craig Presland is the Chief Executive Officer of Cooperative Business New Zealand.

A commerce graduate from the University of Auckland, Craig has led a diverse range of NZ-based organisations and joined CBNZ in April 2016. He brings valuable experience to the role including 12 years within the NZ co-operative sector and another 3 years leading a prominent shared services organization within the NZ public health sector. Read more about Craig.

A former first-class cricket and rugby representative, Craig is married with three children and lives in Auckland.

Contact Craig:

DDI: 09 539 5482
M: 021 800 387



Our Board of Directors

The new Cooperative Business NZ Board of Directors is, from left: Kim DeGarnham; Murray Jagger; Lisa Murray; Jonathan Lee (Chairman); Christine Burr; Blue Read; and Fiona Hancox.


Jonathan-Lee_AU  Jonathan Lee (Chair)

Chief Operating Officer of Co-op Money NZ, Jonathan Lee was elected to the Board of Cooperative Business New Zealand in November 2012 and became Chair in September 2013.

Prior to joining Co-op Money NZ, Jonathan held senior roles across a range of industries in New Zealand and overseas. He has a Bachelor of Business Studies from Massey University, an MBA from Henley Business School and is a member of the Institute of Directors.

Jonathan lives in Auckland and his interests include tennis, golf and spending time with his young family.




Christine Burr

Commercial Manager Milk Supply at Fonterra Co-operative Group, Christine Burr was elected to the Board of Cooperative Business New Zealand in 2012.

Before she joined Fonterra in 2002, she worked in the fashion and tourism sectors. She has a commerce degree from Canterbury University and a proud family history involving co-operatives.

Christine lives in Auckland where her interests include boating and fashion.


Kim DeGarnham

Company Secretary and GM – Employee & Support, Foodstuffs South Island, Kim was elected to the Board of Cooperative Business New Zealand in August 2014.

Prior to then she held various senior accounting positions within the company since joining Foodstuffs in 1987.

Born and raised in Toronto Canada, Kim is an Associate Chartered Accountant (ACA) and a Fellow of Governance New Zealand.

Kim lives in Christchurch where she enjoys cycling, reading and spending time with her seven grandchildren.


Fiona Hancox

Beef and sheep farmer, volunteer ambulance officer and current director at Silver Fern Farms, Fiona Hancox joined the Board of Cooperative Business New Zealand in August 2016.

She has served as an observing director of Cooperative Business NZ and is currently on the 2016 Fonterra Governance Development Programme.

A former South Island Farmer of the Year, she is a director of three farming companies and also holds a National Diploma in Ambulance Practice. Read about Fiona in the Otago Daily Times.

Fiona operates a 27,000 stock unit sheep and beef finishing operation in Tapanui, West Otago.


Murray-Jagger_AU  Murray Jagger

Beef and dairy farmer and current director at Livestock Improvement Corporation (LIC), Murray Jagger was elected to the Board of Cooperative Business New Zealand in August 2015.

He has extensive experience in diverse and complex co-operative company governance and strong networks across the agricultural sector.

He has a DipAg from Massey University and is a member of the NZ Institute of Directors.

Murray lives on a 550ha property at Taurikura Bay, Whangarei Heads in Northland.


Lisa Murray

General Counsel at Farmers Mutual Group (FMG) since 2006, Lisa Murray joined the Board of Cooperative Business New Zealand in August 2016.

As part of FMG’s Senior Leadership Team, she works across the business on both strategic and operational levels, including matters related to the legislative, constitutional, governance and ownership aspects of the mutual.

She has an LLB degree from the University of Alberta in her native Canada.

Lisa lives in Wellington.





Blue Read

Dairy farmer and company director, Blue Read was elected to the Board of Cooperative Business New Zealand in 2011, serving as Chair from 2011 – 2013.

A former Fonterra director and chair of its shareholders’ council, he is a longstanding champion of the co-operative business model.

Blue lives on his coastal dairy farm near Urenui, North Taranaki. Recreational interests include bicycle riding, fishing and visiting grandchildren.