Annual awards criteria and nomination forms

Annual awards criteria and nomination forms

Nominations for Cooperative Business NZ Annual Awards, 2017

1st June 2017

Dear Members,

This year our Annual Awards Dinner will be held at Eden Park, Auckland on Thursday 10th August 2017 commencing from 7.00pm.

This event is all about recognising and celebrating those individuals and organisations which have led co-operative success. This year we have added a new award: “Co-operation Amongst Co-operatives” as we have sought to drive increased collaboration across the NZ Co-op Family, this including Co-operatives, Mutuals and Societies.

Here we are acknowledging and rewarding outstanding governance and leadership from within the co-operative sector during the 2016/17 year (12 month period from 1st June 2016 to 31 May 2017).

This is a great opportunity to acknowledge and recognise the outstanding contribution made by so many staff, management and board members in serving their co-operative organisations and local communities.

We’d like to invite you to make your nominations now for the Cooperative NZ Annual Awards to be presented at this event. All nominations will be considered by a sub-committee of the Cooperative Business NZ Board which will form the judging panel.

Nominations for all awards can be made the staff, management and directors of any Cooperative Business NZ Member (organisation). Members are able to nominate their own staff, management or directors, as well as themselves as an organisation (where applicable).

The awards are in four categories as follows:

  1. Co-operation Amongst Co-operatives Award

This award has been newly introduced in 2016/17 and relates entirely to one of the 7 Rochdale Principles, “Co-operation Amongst Co-operatives”, which is defined as:

“Co-operatives serve their Members most effectively and strengthen the co-operative movement by working together through local, regional, national and international structures”.

During 2016/17 we placed considerable emphasis on driving increased collaboration amongst our Members. This award will be presented to an individual who has proactively and effectively led collaborative initiatives in one or more of the following areas:

  • Growing the pie with win / win outcomes (eg. joint supply agreements)
  • Leveraging on combined purchasing requirements (sourcing products and services)
  • Avoiding duplication (eg. common support services)
  • Sharing of information (eg. best practice governance)
  • Sharing of resources and facilities.


  1. Co-operative Leader of the Year Award

This award will be presented to an individual who has shown significant co-operative leadership either within a Members’ co-operative or the co-operative sector generally over the 2016/17 year. The nominee must have clearly demonstrated:

  • Co-operative leadership
  • Vision and courage for the co-operative model
  • Successful initiative(s) that have benefited their co-operative or the co-operative sector
  • Commitment and support of well-recognised and accepted co-operative principles


  1. Co-operative Business of the Year Award

This award will be presented to a Cooperative Business NZ Member (organisation) that has made a significant and positive impact within the co-operative community during the 2016/17 year.

The award is about celebrating the success of the co-operative business model, and the winner will have clearly demonstrated the value of the model in returning benefits to his / her Members, and in addition possibly to local communities.


  1. Outstanding Co-operative Contribution Award

This category is to recognise an individual that over the long term (10 plus years) has contributed significantly to the success of the co-operative model for a Cooperative Business NZ Member organisation, otherwise to the wider co-operative sector here in NZ.

This award is not intended to just recognise long service, it is to recognise significant contributions made to developing a Member’s co-operative business model and / or to the broader co-operative sector here in New Zealand.

Please send your nominations on the attached forms (see below) and return them to me at by 5.00pm Friday 21st July 2017.

Thank you and I look forward to seeing you all at the Cooperative Business NZ Annual Awards

Dinner on 10th August!


Kind Regards

Craig Presland

Chief Executive Officer