CBNZ – Board Election Process and Timetable, 2017

CBNZ – Board Election Process and Timetable, 2017

Dear Cooperative Business NZ Members,

We will be holding our 35th AGM at Eden Park, Auckland, from 5.00pm on Thursday 10th August.

In accordance with Rule 16.1, elections of directors are to be held prior to Cooperative Business NZ’s Annual General Meeting. The Board currently comprises of six elected directors and one independent director. Under this election, there will be two director roles that will expire by rotation, both incumbents have advised that they will seek re-election. The relevant Rules relating to director appointments are included in Appendix 2.

Elected Directors Term Expiry Status
1. Jonathan Lee (Chair) 2017 will seek re-election
2. Kim DeGarnham 2017 will seek re-election
3. Murray Jagger 2018
4. Christine Burr 2018
5. Fiona Hancox 2019
6. Lisa Murray 2019
Independent Director
7. Blue Read retiring at 2017 AGM


Of the two elected director positions to be filled this year, these will be for three year terms. By normal rotation two elected directors will retire each year, while the Board can then appoint up to two independent directors. The timetable and process for director elections is as follows:

Activity Date
Director nominations open Wednesday 24th May 2017
Director nominations close Friday, 23rd June 2017
Voting pack (with nominee statement and CV) issued and voting opens. Friday, 30th June 2017
Voting closes and voting papers to be received by Cooperative Business NZ CEO Tuesday, 1st August 2017
Cooperative Business NZ AGM – Notification of election results Thursday, 10th August 2017