Celebrating our co-operative DNA

Celebrating our co-operative DNA

Cooperative Business NZ Chief Executive, Craig Presland, with the five awards.

The annual awards, which recognise outstanding contributions to the co-operative business sector, were presented on August 15 in Wellington at an event hosted by Cooperative Business NZ – New Zealand’s apex body for co-operatives, mutuals and societies.

Pictured above are, left to right: Carl Taylor (CBS Co-op), Emma Parsons (CEO Agrigate, a 50/50 joint venture between LIC and Fonterra), Murray King (LIC) and Rob Hewett (Silver Fern Farms).

The winners this year (2018-19) were: 

Co-operative Business of the Year – Livestock Improvement Corporation (LIC)

Co-operative Leader of the Year – Carl Taylor, Combined Building Supplies (CBS Co-op)

Co-operation Amongst Co-operatives – Agrigate (LIC & Fonterra joint venture project)

Outstanding Co-operative Contribution – Rob Hewett (Silver Fern Farms, Farmlands)

Enduring Service Award – SBS Bank, (est. 1869) celebrating 150 years.


  • For more information on each winner, click on the name of the relevant award.


The Cooperative Business NZ Annual Awards, which began in 2016, is an initiative of the membership organisation’s chief executive, Craig Presland, who leaves in September.

For the second year, the independent judging panel comprised Dr Lisa Callagher (University of Auckland), Phil McKendry (Electricity Ashburton and RuralCo) and Alastair Hercus (Buddle Findlay).