Our governance

Meet the board

Cooperative Business NZ is governed by a Board of Directors. This is made up of between four and six directors elected by our Full Members. Our constitution also allows up to two Independent Directors at any time. 

The Board is responsible for ensuring good governance of the organisation, setting our strategic plan and ensuring our ongoing sustainability. They meet approximately eight times a year with a mix of in-person and virtual meetings. 

The Board comprises some of New Zealand’s highest-performing business leaders with first-rate experience in a wide range of business functions and sectors. 

Mike Brown (Chair)

CEO - Marlborough Grape Growers Cooperative
Board Member since 2021

Mike is a specialist in the export of food and beverages, beginning his career as a winemaker and working in the primary sector ever since.

An advocate for collaborative activity, Mike has chaired the boards of Zeffer Cider and Pure NZ, and has been a director of several industry organisations.

Matthew Washington

Former CFO - Mitre 10 (New Zealand) Limited
Board Member since 2021

Matthew’s industry experience is wide, previously holding senior management roles across the professional services, building and construction, and retail industries.

Matthew is a chartered member of the Institute of Directors, a Fellow of Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand, and a seasoned attendee of Cooperative Business NZ Governance Courses.

Greg Gent

Chairperson - Southern Cross Health Trust
Board Member since 2021

Greg’s extensive governance career spans several decades across multiple sectors, with significant experience with the co-operative business model.

Greg is a past chair of FMG and Director of Fonterra, alongside being a dairy farmer in Ruawai. Continued involvement in both agricultural and financial services sectors saw Greg awarded the New Zealand Order of Merit, in 2012.

Andy Grant

Director - Ashburton Lyndhurst Irrigation Ltd (ALIL)
Board Member since 2020

Andy lives in New Zealand’s co-operative capital, Ashburton, and is General Manager of the family-owned farming business, Craigellachie Dairy Farms.

Andy is an Applied Science and Business graduate of Massey University.

Nicola Shadbolt

Chairperson - Plant & Food Research Institute, Climate Change Commissioner, Professor - Massey University
Board Member since 2021

Nicola comes to the board with extensive experience across a variety of roles in government, agribusiness and consultancy. Previously serving on the boards of Transit New Zealand and Fonterra, Nicola remains a crucial advocative voice for the co-operative business model.

In 2018, Nicola was awarded the New Zealand Order of Merit for service to agribusiness.

Simon Tucker

Director Global Sustainability, Stakeholder Affairs and Trade - Fonterra Cooperative Group
Board Member since 2022

Simon leads teams responsible for Fonterra’s global trade strategy, its corporate sustainability and environmental partnerships programmes, the company’s relationships with New Zealand and foreign governments, and Fonterra’s industry partners. He has spent over twelve years in the New Zealand dairy industry including in leadership roles at DairyNZ, the Dairy Companies Association of New Zealand and with Fonterra Co-operative Group’s US-based business and at its head office in Auckland.

Simon has held a number of governance and advisory roles, including in the areas of economic development, trade, resource management and education.

Raewyn Tipene

CEO - HPMT Group
Board Observer since 2023

Raewyn Tipene comes to the Board with a range of business and community development experience. Her latest venture is encouraging owners of underutilised Māori land to grow fresh organic produce to sell through the newly established Kaianuku Co-op.

Of Ngāpuhi and Ngatihine descent she is keen to increase her own knowledge and connections in relation to co-operatives, to better support Māori landowners.