As a co-operative, our Board are elected from our membership and we have the ability to have up to two independent Directors.

Our Board members are some of New Zealand’s highest-performing business leaders who have first-rate experience in areas including finance, business transformation, legal, retail and agriculture.

Christine Burr (Chair)

Christine Burr was elected to the Board in 2012 and was appointed Chair in 2020.

Christine is Commercial Manager Milk Supply at Fonterra Co-operative Group. Before joining Fonterra in 2002, she worked in the fashion and tourism sectors. Christine has a commerce degree from Canterbury University and a proud family history involving co-operatives.

Jonathan Lee

Jonathan Lee was elected to the Board in 2012. He was Chair between 2013 and 2020.

Jonathan is Chief Executive Officer of Banzpay. Prior to this, he held senior roles across a range of industries in New Zealand and overseas.

He has a Bachelor of Business Studies from Massey University and an MBA from Henley Business School. Jonathan is a member of the Institute of Directors.

Neil Cowie

Neil Cowie was elected to the Board in 2018.

Neil is currently CEO of Solarcity and he is a former Chief Executive of Mitre 10.

He holds tertiary qualifications from institutions in South Africa, Australia and New Zealand. In 2017, Neil won the Co-operative Leader of the Year award in recognition of his significant co-operative leadership within his own organisation and across the co-operative sector.

Andy Grant

Andy Grant was elected to the Board in 2018.

Andy is a Director at Ashburton Lyndhurst Irrigation Ltd (ALIL) and he is an Applied Science and Business graduate of Massey University.

Andy lives in New Zealand’s co-operative capital, Ashburton, and he is General Manager of the family-owned farming business, Craigellachie Dairy Farms.

Fiona Hancox

Fiona Hancox was elected to the Board in 2016.

Fiona is a Director on the Silver Fern Farms Co-operative Board and a Director of West Otago Health Limited.

A former South Island Farmer of the Year, Fiona is a also a Director of three farming companies and she holds a National Diploma in Ambulance Practice. Fiona operates a 27,000 stock unit sheep and beef finishing operation in Tapanui, West Otago.

Lisa Murray

Lisa Murray was elected to the Board in 2016.

Lisa is General Counsel at Farmers’ Mutual Group (FMG). As part of FMG’s Senior Leadership Team, she works across the business on both strategic and operational levels including matters related to the legislative, constitutional, governance and ownership aspects of the mutual.

Lisa has an LLB degree from the University of Alberta in her native Canada.